Woman’s 11-stone (154 lbs) legs may be lost – Post Update 2 years later

Why I’m glad my giant leg was amputated 

You can read the article at http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/news/3762723/Why-Im-glad-my-giant-leg-was-amputated.html
 

2 years after my original post on Mandy Sellers who was born with a rare condition called “Proteus Syndrome”, which caused her legs  at one point to swell up to approximately 170 lbs = British 10 stones).  About 5 months ago she had her left leg (the heaviest) amputated.  One way to identify with this condition they say is to think of the story about “The Elephant Man”.   Mandy’s story is a compelling one and I totally recommend reading the above article as well as catching her story on TV this coming Wednesday…..flagranny2

 

Mandy said: “My life is better than ever before. My mobility isn’t as good now but I am getting better with it.

 

“I have been making myself physically feel better which is also helping me feel better mentally. I am really happy and at a good place right now.”

 

Mandy spends much of her free time raising awareness about her condition which affects just 200 people worldwide.
 

See Mandy’s story on Extraordinary People: Losing One Of My Giant Legs on British Channel 5 on Wednesday, August 24 at 9pm.

2 Responses to “Woman’s 11-stone (154 lbs) legs may be lost – Post Update 2 years later”

  1. I - Health Center Says:

    Hi, my Name is Adam Kurniawan..
    Nice article. I like your blog, look good. Keep share, I will frequently visit your blog:)
    Anyway, I also have a new blog about health, please visit my blog and give us your comment.

  2. flagranny2 Says:

    Thanks so much for checking my blog I appreciate your comment. I will definitely check out your blog and leave a comment. Thanks again, flagranny2


Leave a Reply

